By Your Side

https://thereoncewasthisgirl.wordpress.com

By Your Side.

Where could I go from your Spirit?  Or where can I flee from your presence?  If I ascend into heaven, You are there.  If I make my bed in hell, behold, you are there.  If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost part of the sea, even there Your hand shall lead me and Your right hand shall hold me.  ~ Psalm 139:7-10

Do you ever feel alone?  I mean, really alone to the point where you feel God is no longer listening nor providing you with the supportive lift or guidance you desperately need?

The above verse emphasizes that even those who do everything possible to escape God’s presence have no possibility of EVER doing so.  So in understanding this to be true, we would also have to accept that it would be even more unlikely for someone who is deeply and actively pursuing God to not be able to find Him.

At times, when you feel you are slipping further away from Him, your faith may become neglected. When you sense your faith beginning to slip, push forward and really begin to intentionally nurture your faith.  Reach out to your sisters in Christ.  Keep your mind focused on prayer, worship and quiet time with the Lord.  Think of Him as your spiritual oxygen.  

There are a lot of things in life that are difficult to understand.  Faith allows the soul to go beyond what the eyes can see. ~ John Maxwell

God is with you always.  Even when you don’t want Him to be.  Even when your life feels scarred by sin.  Even when nothing is going your way.  Even when you are at your deepest and darkest moment.  You may not be able to see Him, hear Him or physically touch Him but He is always by your side.

Faith can be difficult.  We want to see… and touch to feel… and to experience His presence.  Christ’s presence is different from that which we would expect from a fellow human being.  You can hear Him through scripture.  You can see Him through answered or unanswered prayers.  And when you feel comforted and at peace, know that you are feeling His touch and are wrapped in His loving arms.

When you feel the distance between you and God is too great, ask yourself a few questions:

  • Have you allowed the enemy access to your thoughts and behaviors?  Has this created unresolved sin? Acknowledge your sin, ask for forgiveness, pray and move forward not back.
  • Are you trusting the enemy more than you are trusting God?
  • Assess your own personal choices or actions.  Could your bad luck really just be the consequences of those choices or decisions?  (You must be painfully honest with yourself)  If so, accept the consequences and make a plan through God to move forward.  We encourage our children to accept the consequences of their choices and God wants us to do the same.  There are so many lessons and opportunities for amazing personal growth when you do this.
  • Could your unanswered prayers really be for your benefit?  Is there a lesson to be learned?   God knows the plans He has for you and your prayer request may not fit in to those plans.  Trust Him and eventually you will be so extremely grateful.
  • Are you intentionally looking for signs of His presence and listening to His voice through scripture or are you consumed in your stress, worry and misery?  When you hand your worry over to God and trust in Him, the stress and the misery will alleviate.  You may be surprised of all the signs you have been missing of Him actively at work in your life.

If you do not stand firm in your faith, then you will not stand at all. ~ Isaiah 7:9

When I look back at my rough, stressful and miserable past…I can see that God was with me all along. For example, as a single mom He did not create my financial problems.  I did that on my own.  I expected to make a big mess all on my own and then say “Hey God, fix this for me.”  These were the unanswered prayers that I am now so very, very grateful for.

I learned that the only way to not make the same mistakes again was to be the woman and mother God fully expected me to be and walk through and extinguish the fires I created.  Learning the lessons as I go.  He was with me by opening doors of opportunity for me, placing people in my life to encourage and support me and constantly building my character and spiritual strength.

He was with me always.

And I promise you that He is with you too.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)”

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand and I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mineYour grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

I will call upon Your Name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine

https://thereoncewasthisgirl.wordpress.com

